Florida Minimum Car Insurance, What Amount of Coverage is Required?

Florida is home to one of the busiest roads in the country, I-95. Even the scenic A1A coastal byway gets backed up as people drive down to Miami or even further to Key West, at the southern tip of the Sunshine State. More drivers equals more accidents. That’s simple math. The fact is everyone gets in car accidents eventually. While all states consider car insurance a legal requirement, the minimum amount of car insurance Florida drivers need can be vastly different. This is your go-to summary of Florida car insurance.

Minimum Amount of Coverage Required

It is required in Florida for all drivers to carry a minimum insurance policy on any vehicle they drive according to
https://floridainsurancequotes.net/florida-auto-insurance/. There are penalties, including fines ,if you fail to adhere to these laws. Florida is a no-fault state, meaning that your coverage will pay your claim up to a pre-set limit, whether the accident was your fault or the other driver’s fault. So, what is the minimum amount of Florida auto insurance required for drivers?

  • $20,000 in bodily injury for all persons per accident
  • $10,000 in personal injury protection
  • $10,000 in personal injury protection
  • $10,000 in bodily injury per person per accident

It is not required of Florida drivers to carry Collision and Comprehensive coverage or other types of additional coverage. However, opting for the additional coverage will help cover the costs of replacing or repairing the vehicle in the event of an accident. You should consider this type of coverage.

Penalties for Failure to Maintain Required Minimum Coverage

All states have penalties for failing to follow laws regarding vehicles, which includes traffic laws and laws requiring car insurance. The laws in Florida also requires policy holders to carry proof of policy in the insured vehicle and produce it at the request of a law enforcement officer. Failure to produce proper insurance documentation can result in a suspended license for up to three years, in addition to fines between $150 to $500. If you cause a car accident and don’t have the minimum amount of car insurance Florida residents are required to have by law, you can potentially be held financially responsible for the other driver’s injuries and property damage. If you don’t pay these damages, your driver’s license can be suspended until you do pay the damages.

New Driving Laws All Floridians Should Know

There are so many laws regarding driving that it can be difficult to keep up with the changes. If you break the law and get a ticket according to
https://floridainsurancequotes.net/florida-auto-insurance/, that can affect your premium. Here are a few new and existing laws that you should be aware of before you get on the road.

  1. Many intersections in Florida have red-light cameras to photograph drivers who dangerously run through red lights. However, an update to the law allows drivers 60 days to pay the red light ticket. You can challenge the ticket in court, but if you lose, you will be required to pay the fine plus the court costs.
  2. All drivers are banned from using their cell phones for texting. The fines start at $30 and increase for every subsequent offense.
  3. If a vehicle is disabled on the right shoulder, Florida law requires drivers in the right lane to move over if they can do so safely.

Florida’s nickname might be the Sunshine State, but it is also the accident-prone state. It has one of the highest accident rates in the country. Good driving habits and maintaining the bare minimum coverage can help you achieve auto insurance Florida drivers need.